LitLanternLogo copy

All LIT Up:
An Evening of Literary Excellence....
On September 11, 2010 at The Palace Theatre in historic PlayhouseSquare

Jury for The First Biennial Lantern Awards Announced:

I. Poetry:
John Gabel, LIT Founder
Nina Gibans, Community Archivist, Poet
Felton Thomas, Jr., Cleveland Public Library
Joshua Smith, Cleveland Orchestra

II. Fiction:
The Honorable Ann Weatherhead
Suzanne DeGaetano, Mac’s Backs Books
Johnathan Foreman, Cleveland Cinemas

Short Fiction:
Michael Bloom, Cleveland Play House
Richard Gildenmeister, Joseph Beth Booksellers
Annie Holden, Borders Books

III. Graphic Novel:
Mitchell Kahan, Akron Art Museum
Margo Crutchfield, MOCA Cleveland
Christopher Lynn, Spaces Gallery
Mary Doria Russell, Novelist

IV. Memoir:
Book length:
Hedy Milgrom, Jewish Community Federation
Carol Wolf, Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage
Larry Kadis, Federal Equipment Company

Essay length publication:
The Honorable Dan Polster
Liz Maugins, Zygote Press
Len Steinbach, Ingenuity Festival

V. Creative Nonfiction:
Book length:
Charlie Lawrence, Cleveland Music School Settlement
David Goodman, Squires, Sanders, & Dempsey LLP
Kathleen Colan, The Plain Dealer

Essay Length:
Kathy Barrie, Barrie Projects
Anne Helmreich, The Baker Nord Center
Christopher Diehl, Diehlio Designs

VI. Journalism: Personal Interest Story
Frank Ruggiero, US State Department
Tony Sias, Cleveland Municipal District
Dennis Barrie; Westlake, Reed, Leskosky

VII. Playwriting/Performance:
James Levin, Ingenuity
Cavana Faithwalker
Bob Taylor, Great Lakes Theatre Festival

Kathleen Cerveny, The Cleveland Foundation
Lillian Kuri, The Cleveland Foundation
Sienna Zielinger, Hathaway Brown School